The whitewater and slippery rocks of meditation

Think you can’t meditate? Us too! Nobody is “good at it” – everyone has an active brain – but there are easy ways to deal with it, and Amy does a great job of explain them briefly and clearly: have a look:

mybrainsworld

“But I’m no good at meditating!  I tried it once, and it just didn’t work.  My mind was all over the place.”  I used to think this a LOT when I tried to meditate.  My mind was like a squirrel on speed.  Actually, it still is.  I start out with the very best of intentions and then I wonder what I should wear to church on Sunday, but does it really matter since I’ll have on a robe?  I probably should do laundry, o, but are we out of detergent?  Where’s my Target list?  On my phone.  Where’s my phone?  O, right, I’m meditating.  Dang it, I blew it again.  Where was I?  Should probably just quit.

And that’s just in the first 15 seconds.  What, you too?

Guess what?  No one, and I mean NO ONE is “good” at meditating.  Not ancient desert mothers and fathers of Christian faith. …

View original post 472 more words

One thought on “The whitewater and slippery rocks of meditation

Leave a Reply

