My greatest spiritual need

Sometimes you read something that catches you off guard and makes you think twice.  That just happened as I read Alyce M. McKenzie’s post in Patheos’ EDGY EXEGESIS: Jesus the Good Shepherd: Reflections on John 10:1-18 – which is the gospel text for this Sunday.  Jesus is the Good Shepherd.  What is that about, for us?  All comfort, rainbows and butterflies?  Alyce says:

“I’m fine with Jesus as a Good Shepherd who lays down his life for us. But if I’m to find my identity in him, doesn’t that mean that

The Good Shepherd who...

sacrifice for others will be required of me? The “I am” sayings promise to meet my basic needs. But their deeper message is that my most basic spiritual need is to give my life for something bigger than my life. And for that I need to hear Jesus say “I am the Good Shepherd who lays down his life for the sheep.”

I was caught by:

“my most basic spiritual need is to give my life for something bigger than my life”

That’s a “gotcha” if there ever was one.  My most basic spiritual need is not about me and my growth, my needs, my fulfillment?  She is so right.

One thought on “My greatest spiritual need

Leave a Reply

