Aug. 9, 2010 Daily Lectionary

Daily Lectionary Texts

John 3:3  Seeing the Kingdom of God

Jesus answered him, “Very truly, I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God without being born from above.”

Today I expect to see people I know, first my family, then later on, people from the congregation.  I expect to see traffic on Airport Blvd, retail malls and their signs, a hospital and all that entails, the normal things.

Will I see the Kingdom of God today?  Where should I look for it?  How will I know it?  Jesus told Nicodemus he had to be born from above to see the Kingdom.

I feel like I need to see the Kingdom of God as I do my work and live my life today.  I want to see the Kingdom of God as I look at my family.  I want to see the Kingdom of God as I look at people facing surgery in the hospital.  I want to see the Kingdom of God as I look at the world that presents itself to me through the screen of my computer.  I want to see the kingdom of God today.

2 thoughts on “Aug. 9, 2010 Daily Lectionary

  1. The Kingdom of God is where we are whether we want to be here or not. Is this what it means to “in Christ”? To see the Kingdom of God is to see the created in Christ, in the Logos, in the Word made flesh and dwelling among us. I believe the crisis is a crisis of expectation. We see what we want to see, kind of like one of those optical illusion pictures, which are both a beautiful woman and an old hag. Expect the patterns of ordinary life to reveal the Kingdom of God. Plan on ways to acknowledge and honor what you see. John did. Follow his example.

Leave a Reply

